Creating a capsule wardrobe

Hello everyone!

I hope you had a fantastic weekend.

Spring is right around the corner and I’m very excited for the upcoming season. I’m ready to leave behind the freezing mornings, the windy afternoons, the rain… And I’m specially excited because I can store my coats and boots and wear again more colourful and lighter clothes.

A couple of years ago I found out about capsule wardrobes, and slow fashion. Since then I’ve been constantly trying to find more information regarding those topics and I’ve being changing the way I shop for clothes and trying to develop my personal style.

This winter I’ve been wearing the same clothes on rotation and hardly done any shopping. That had made me realise that I’m ready for a capsule wardrobe. A capsule wardrobe consists of choosing a number a pieces that can be worn together and create different looks. For me the number of clothes of a capsule wardrobe is a personal decision, but I usually see capsule wardrobes that consists of between 30 and 40 pieces, which includes shirts, pants, skirts, dresses, shoes…

My idea is to do a capsule wardrobe for the Spring season. I think it will be easier for me to do my first capsule in spring, because I will be able to wear lighter clothes and wear layers if it gets chilly. I wont need to incorporate coats or boots, therefore I’ll have more space for tops and bottoms to create different looks with.

For me this is an exciting challenge. I think it won’t be very difficult. But at the same time I know it can be challenging to come up with different outfits and not to get bored of wearing the same clothes on rotation.

So as this will be my first capsule wardrobe, I can’t give you any advise yet, but I can share the steps I’m following to create my first capsule wardrobe for the Spring season:

1. Begin with an organised wardrobe: Before choosing which pieces you want to include in your capsule wardrobe, organise your wardrobe to know what you have and what could work with the rest of pieces of your capsule. I had published a post before on how to declutter your wardrobe.
2. Choose the pieces you want to include in your capsule wardrobe taking into account your lifestyle.
3. Choose the clothes you want to include in your capsule wardrobe taking into account your style and a colour palette, so it will be easier to combine those pieces together and create different outfits.

image

Thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “Creating a capsule wardrobe

  1. I’ve been thinking about a capsule wardrobe for a while now. The whole fast fashion thing – just stocking up on inexpensive pieces to wear a handle of times, is actually quite expensive in the long run. A capsule wardrobe makes life much easier. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment